9,000 Runners Run On Totally Closed NPE Highway


29th July 2018, Subang Jaya – This year’s IJM Allianz Duo Highway Challenge 2018 ended on a high note, witnessing the determination and strong will of every runner who huddled through the finishing lines as they took full advantage of the opportunity to run on a totally closed highway.

The New Pantai Highway (NPE) attracted more than 9,000 runners from all walks of life who started their run from Sunway Pyramid, making their way through the all-new Pantai Sentral Park interchange towards Pantai Dalam before returning to the finishing line, while thoroughly enjoying the breathtaking view of the sunrise against the city skyline.

After a successful debut last year and due to popular demand, an international category was introduced to attract international participants which drew interested runners from all over the world including Kenya, Australia, Scotland, France, Japan, Singapore, India, Iraq, Italy, and Hong Kong.

The final leg of this year’s IJM Allianz Duo Highway Challenge saw runners crowding the roads of the NPE from as early as 4.30am waiting for the flag off. The flag off time for 21km was at 5.30am and 6.30am for 10km.

Runners who also completed the first leg of the challenge at Besraya Highway in April were excited to give their best in the second leg at NPE Highway to claim the title as the Champion of the IJM Allianz Duo Highway Challenge. The final winners were selected based on the fastest combined timing from the 21km and 13km at the NPE and Besraya Highway Challenge respectively.

The IJM Allianz Duo Highway Challenge was held in collaboration with IJM Corporation Berhad (IJM) and Allianz Malaysia Berhad as the title sponsors. Organized by Besraya (M) Sdn Bhd (Besraya) and New Pantai Expressway Sdn Bhd (NPE) under IJM’s toll division and EX Pixels, the organizers took extra measures and precautions to ensure the safety of the runners with a fully closed highway, and most importantly, making sure the participants have a great run.


Men Open 21km

  1. Poo Vasanthan Subramaniam (1.14:31)
  2. Muhaizar Mohamad (1.14:41)
  3. Anas Rosli (1.15:25)

Women Open 21km

  1. Sheela Samivellu (1.26:45)
  2. Chua Khit Yeng (1.33:44)
  3. Noor Amelia Musa (1.34:34)


Click here for more:-

Photo Album